Monday’s Verse 4/4/2016

Dear readers,

Welcome to national poetry month!

Who doesn’t like anagrams, right? No one, that’s who. No one on this reading list. And certainly not Craig Arnold (an old car rig), born 1967, died 2009. I wish he were still around, as I have just discovered him. He won a Yale Younger Poets prize back in 1998, when his work was primarily formal. He was a member of the rock band Iris. He was well-traveled. And in April 2009, while attempting to climb an active volcano peak in Japan, he disappeared. His body was never recovered, and it is assumed he fell to his death from a trail.

Here’s a series of couplets and tercets that could be cutesy in its repetitive use of anagram but instead, by line 17, wreaks quiet devastation. Well, someone did say it’s the cruellest month, right? -ed.

UNCOUPLINGS

There is no I in teamwork

but there is a two maker

there is no I in together
but there is a got three
a get to her

the I in relationship
is the heart I slip on
a lithe prison

in all communication
we count on a mimic
(I am not uncomic)

our listening skills
are silent killings

there is no we in marriage
but a grim area

there is an I in family
also my fail

-2008

Leave a Reply

