Sept. 16,2002: SONG 3 (Dorothy Parker)

How is it that every romantic comedy Julia Roberts has ever made–OK, I’ve
only seen one and a half–is neither romantic nor comic? Since I was
forced to sit through one tonight, this Dorothy Parker poem about sums up
my emotional state currently.

Enjoi.

SONG [3]

When summer used to longer,
Before the daisies died,
You’d but to bend your finger
And I was by your side.
And, oh, my heart was breaking,
And, oh, my life was through;
You had me for my taking;
"Now run along," said you.

But now the summer’s over,
The birds have flown away,
And all the amorous clover
Has turned to sober hay.
And you’re the one to tarry,
And you’re the one to sigh,
And beg me, will I marry.
"The deuce I will," say I.

Leave a Reply

